Cell Phones

Isn’t it funny how when we were growing up we could go play across town or at the park  for hours on end without our parents. (WITHOUT A CELLPHONE) All the neighborhood kids could be gone all day with exception of a few check-ins we had to do to let our parents know we were still alive! We would have to run all the way back home, I’d quickly swing the door open and shout “we are checking in!!” Then run as fast as we could back to where ever we were playing at the time.

We’d play dodge or kickball but if we didn’t have anything to play with we’d play one of my favorite games ever, Red Rover, Red Rover. We had good, honest, old fashion fun! Well, sometimes….there  always was that friend that would want to do something so bad and you were so afraid of the police or worse your parents!!

Today our lives revolve around cell phones and the Internet! Ex. I am on my iPhone right now in a nail salon finishing my slice for today! There has been days that I’d leave the house and drive away and have to turn around because I forgot my phone, WHAT IN THE WORLD WOULD I DO WITHOUT IT, RIGHT?? Then I think to myself, why am I doing this, I have survived many years without this stupid thing? But I must go back and retrieve it!

Our children today barely know how to “play” without electronics, or even socialize anymore. Everybody has cell phones now and couldn’t imagine their lives without it. Yes, even me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cell Phones

  1. isbergamanda says:

    I finally gave into getting a smart phone three years ago and it has changed my life. However, I still don’t think my students (or any child really) needs to have a phone until they are in high school. They can still check in the “old fashioned way” just like you and I did!

    -Amanda at http://teachingwanderlust.com/2015/03/19/giving-a-diy-neti-pot-a-try-sol19/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. elsie says:

    It is funny to consider what we do now compared to when we were kids. Sometimes I get mad at myself when I find myself tethered to electronics.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ccahill2013 says:

    It’s hard to remember what life was like “back in the day” without electronic devices. I laugh when I think about the first cell phone back in the 80’s. Remember?! Those huge phones in those huge bags?! So funny to think about. Thanks for the memories.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kmurphy1027 says:

    This slice reminded me of the times I would play with my neighborhood friends for hours on end and only come home for dinner – only to go back out until late at night. Those were the simple days. Hopefully my girls get to experience the childhood I had at some point!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. LSquared says:

    Yes, I remember Red Rover, too! And as I think Pam Muñoz Ryan put it, we had “unchoreographed childhoods.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment